Its 2017… Audio Books had become popular in the 1980’s but in reality, spoken audio has existed since the 1930’s.  So imagine the unimaginable, this book obsessed girl just listened to her second audio book last week.  I honestly had never been able to get into audio books.  I always imagine a weird voice trying too hard with the emotions or the sound effects  messing up my concentration on the words.  As much of a multi-tasker as I am, I do have a one track mind when it comes to listening to words.

A friend of mine suggested I try Audible.  They were offering a free trial so I figured “sure why not?”  I’ll give it a shot.  So What Alice Forgot is the first one I decided to download and I must say, Tamara Lovatt-Smith did a really good job narrating the book.  Although her voice is kind of monotone, it’s not once of those “oh my gosh, I can’t stand it” voices.  She speaks smoothly and she doesn’t try to completely change her voice which in my opinion would get annoying;  She just speaks.  There are no sound effects or music in the background. Just you,  the words of Liane Moriarty and Tamara’s voice.  Which is perfect for me, I can just lose myself in the story.

The Summary:

What would happen if you were visited by your younger self, and got a chance for a do-over? Alice Love is 29 years old, madly in love with her husband, and pregnant with their first child. So imagine her surprise when, after a fall, she comes to on the floor of a gym (a gym! she HATES the gym!) and discovers that she’s actually 39, has three children, and is in the midst of an acrimonious divorce. A knock on the head has misplaced 10 years of her life, and Alice isn’t sure she likes who she’s become. It turns out, though, that forgetting might be the most memorable thing that has ever happened to Alice.

The Cover:

Image result for what alice forgot

This is the U.S cover of What Alice Forgot.  I have not read any other Liane Moriarty Books but from what I saw on the other covers, this one is similar to the rest.  The cover does not hint at all at what the book would contain.  It is just a clean simple cover.  It’s pretty but normally would not catch my attention immediately.  The UK cover however, did catch my eye 😉  The colors just pop out more to me. Image result for what alice forgot

In all, it was a great story, with lots of heartache, surprises, and forgiveness.  And most importantly, self discovery.  Losing 10 years worth of memories had Alice figuring out who she really was inside.  The audio part is good. I think I got confused the first couple of chapters because the book is in different points of views, so I had to figure out how she transitioned.  Once I got the hang of that the rest was a breeze.  I hope you like this review and if Audio Books are your thing I provided you the link below, and if it’s not then that’s cool too! I added the Amazon link as well for you. 🙂

Much Love,

I

Audible

Amazon