Hands down, author Kathryn Stockett needs a standing ovation for this wonderful novel.  I laughed, I cried, and oh my goodness, I just wanted to slap the crap out of some of the characters.  Now being only 28 years old, I certainly don’t know what it was like back in these days but based on what I learned, I think it’s safe to say The Help is very, very close to what it may have been like in the 60’s.

Pretty much the title is self-explanatory.  The Help is about the maids that work for the white women of Jackson, MS.  We read what they would deal with at home, at the homes of their employers and what one maid with the help of one white woman did to try to change their whole town’s way of thinking.

Synopsis:

Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who’s always taken orders quietly, but lately she’s unable to hold her bitterness back. Her friend Minny has never held her tongue but now must somehow keep secrets about her employer that leave her speechless. White socialite Skeeter just graduated college. She’s full of ambition, but without a husband, she’s considered a failure. Together, these seemingly different women join together to write a tell-all book about work as a black maid in the South, that could forever alter their destinies and the life of a small town..

The Cover:

14454012_10207108875776487_385955205_o
My Personal Copy

 The cover is just beautiful; Simple and classy.  Kind of like the white women in Jackson, simple and classy on the outside, but the inside tells a different story.  It may just be me, but the birds on the front  are like those women, they all stick together with what they think is good, but  one breaks apart to do what she knows is right.

 

 

 

 

14466320_10207108876456504_1243706998_o
Book Club Dinner- Food Credit to: Melissa, Laura, and Allie. Best cooks in Book Club 😉

 

 

 All the characters were well written and had their purpose in the book and although The Help is technically a fiction novel, some of the actual scenarios are not and that’s what intrigues me the most.  I love history enough  that while reading, I had my husband google things that happened in real life.  Remember the first black student allowed at Ole Miss? You get a little lesson of that small historical event in the novel.   🙂  In all, The Help gets 5/5 stars from me and  I listed the links below for you so you can get your copy today.

On another note, if you just do not like to read this is going to be one of the few times you will ever hear me suggest the DVD.  Now of course there are some parts that were left out of the movie (parts you will laugh your head off in the book) but overall it stayed very close to the story line.

Amazon:

DVD

Novel