Have you ever heard the story of the Prince whose soul was so ugly that a witch cast a spell to have the outside match whats inside?  Of course, who hasn’t watched Disney’s The Beauty and the Beast?  I used to watch it every day growing up and now watch it with my daughters.  Well, read this review and you will find out about a book remaking the story 😉

I am sure everyone has heard or watched of the movie Beastly with Vanessa Hudgens in it.  Ill be honest I watched it before ever reading the book.  I thought it was good although it was a bit cheesy.  Its like the actors tried too hard to seem cool.  Anyway, the book by Alex Flinn was MUCH better.  Unlike the movie, Kendra the witch did turn Kyle into a beast hairy paws and all :p.  The story line was much better and made more sense.  Also towards the end, there is a twist you didn’t see coming.

Summary:

I am a beast. A beast! Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright. I am a monster.

You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll,stay this way forever—ruined—unless I can break the spell.

Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.

I like this cover.  Its so simple yet classy.

IMG_5108

Beastly is a book that took the classic Beauty and the Beast and turned it into the modern day tale where the narcissistic handsome teenage boy becomes the ugly beast.  Kyle learns how to view the world differently, show respect for others and that beauty is more than just whats on the surface.

If you would like to read this book, I have the link available to you below!

Amazon:

https://amzn.com/B004SI63R4

Barnes and Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/beastly-deluxe-edition-alex-flinn/1103850799?ean=9780062113917#productInfoTabs