So, I won this beautiful book in a giveaway!  I had heard of it but never really read its summary.  So without still reading what its about, I dove right in.  Sometimes I like to read a  book and have no idea whats its about.  Just to keep things interesting. 😉 Let me tell you, it was a really good book that I think all YA and older readers should consider.  If you loved The Hunger Games and Divergent, then this is the next book you HAVE to get!  Its not a long read like T.H.G and Div, but still it would be good for when you go on a road trip or simply want a quick read.  “The Sixth Domicile”  is book 1 of a new series.

What it’s about:
In a future ravaged by greed and war, The Domicile has emerged. A new civilization governed by clandestine Elders where citizens are united by white masks and uniform identities. To remove one’s mask, to go outside the Domicile, to show defiance, means being sent to the Meurtre, a horrifying death sentence.

Q437B doesn’t follow the rules. She craves sunlight, dares to love her childhood friend B116A, and–the most forbidden of all–has seen the true face of her beloved beneath his mask.

But when Q becomes an Adulte, The Domicile threatens to take away everything that makes her happy. She is forced to marry an abusive soldier who demands she conform.

Whispers spread about the unconventional lessons she teaches her new students. And when Q openly disobeys the Elders, the people become restless, questioning the truth of the world in the wake of such defiance.

Rumblings of discontent stir as others begin to follow the path toward their freedom. The Revolution has begun, and Q is the spark that ignited the flames.

The Sixth Domicile is book 1 in the Domicile Series, A New Adult dystopian. Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Ally Condie’s Matched series will love The Sixth Domicile.

The Cover:

I love this cover. It shows the mask of one of the main characters.  Gives you an idea what these people in the Domicile are forced to wear 24/7.

 Its clean, not too much going on with the cover so it doesn’t overwhelm your senses.  The title and author’s name is simple but goes well with the cover and illustration.

IMG_4547.jpg  IMG_4285.jpg

(Pictures taken by me!)

While I do feel like this book has a lot of similarities of other Dystopian novels, I like to see that Courtney Ruggles still made it her own.  The concept may seem the same (girl, unaware that she is creating a revolution for simply being her) but the struggles that these characters go through are very different.  While in Divergent and The Hunger Games, you couldn’t choose your way of life or what you did for work, you could still maintain enough free will to choose your partner for life.  In The Sixth Domicile, you couldn’t even do that!  Since the day you were conceived, your name, job, and spouse has already been chosen for you.

I wish I could have written a better review for this book.  It truly is a good read.  I was so into this book that when I wasn’t able to pull my paperback copy out, I downloaded it through my Kindle Unlimited so that I could keep on reading haha.  So yes, if you were wondering, The Sixth Domicile by Courtney Ruggles is available as paperback, Kindle edition, and available FREE if you have Kindle Unlimited.  The made the link available below so you can get your copy today! I suggest reading it before Book 2: The Vrai Domicile releases in August!

Amazon:

https://amzn.com/B017O08SDO

Barnes and Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-sixth-domicile-courtney-ruggles/1123197221