DILECTI SURGEMUS – SOCII POLLEMUS

(Chosen we rise – Allied we prevail)

I think I just found the ultimate urban fantasy series:  “The Hasea Chronicles” by Stuart Meczes.  In book 1 “The Awakening” I cried,  laughed,  yelled, and there was a lot of “awe” by me ha-ha.  It’s full of action, suspense, romance, and sadness, that anyone would enjoy this book.  There is so much detail and emotions you feel like you’re right in the middle of it!  It’s as if the characters have come to life.

Honestly, “The Awakening” has jumped to my top 5 all-time favorite novels.  Let me put it this way, I was so into this book that my husband just gave faces each time I would yell “ugh!” or laugh or when I would scream the occasional “are you kidding me?!”  He didn’t think a person could be so loud while READING! Yes, I am one of those.  😉

The Story Line: 

Alexander Eden is one unhappy teenager. A geeky, social pariah, he’s the victim of constant bullying at school. His home life isn’t much better with a stepfather who resents him and a half brother who is better than him at everything.

But that all changes the day the mysterious and beautiful Gabriella De Luca walks into his life. Everyone wants to know her, to be with her. But she is interested in Alex.
Because Alex is different.

Soon afterwards he is thrown into a world he never thought possible. A world where he and others like him are the last line of defense. A world where an ancient unspeakable evil lurks. 
Evil which seeks to consume him.

The Cover:

The cover is nice.  It’s dark and it shows your main characters, for sure lives up to its genre, Urban Fantasy. You will be able to quickly notice the book if you were to be shopping at the books store. There is no walking past it without it catching your attention.  The title is nice and big, very easy to read.  I like how it looks and is placed on the cover.

Although the cover is easy to the eyes and noticeable, I just can’t seem to shake the feeling that something is missing to make it the ultimate cover.  Don’t get me wrong, I think the cover is good, but maybe something could have been a little different?  Maybe the crest of their organization could have been added to the background? Something… I don’t know.  Maybe it’s just me.  Let me know if I am wrong or please comment to let me know what you think?

So I liked “The Awakening” so much, I felt I needed to ask Author Meczes “What exactly was your inspiration?”  I mean I get that writers can get ideas from movies, other books, or things experienced from their own lives.  But Stuart Meczes went beyond all that.  The action and drama was more than just ideas from other books.  When I spoke to Meczes, he said that some of his inspiration came from video games and comic books.   So never down gamer guys!!  These cool dudes may be the next best seller in the book world!  Also, the work of Neil Gaimans, English author of short fiction, novels, comic books, graphic novels, audio theatre and films inspired some of his style.

  Author Stuart Meczes said and I quote “I was trying to write the sort of book series I’ve always wanted to read, using elements I love.”  Well Mr. Meczes, I can honestly say, your method worked.  You have created a series that everyone would love.

I really recommend you all read this book!!   I give “The Hasea Chronicles: The Awakening” 5 out of 5 stars.  The series is available right now on Amazon and Barns and Noble.  I provided the links below! Thanks for reading guys!!!  You are what keeps me going!  Once I read book two I will be sure to update you all on it!

Amazon:                                                                                 

https://amzn.com/B0074EC5G2

 

Barnes and Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hasea-chronicles-books-i-ii-stuart-meczes/1118591674?ean=2940045672405