So yesterday while at home with my girls, I decided to read this Middle Grade book published back in 2010.  Its called “Radiance” by Alyson Noël.  Its less than 200 pages so its perfect for those middle school and younger.  Although I thought this was a good read.  I don’t see it holding the attention of an adult.  Which is OK because its for the younger crowd.  I read it because well, I bought this book at my local McKay’s Book store for a good price 🙂

This book is about a girl named Riley, her and her parents died in a car accident.  Riley is a 13 year old girl who is moody, stubborn, and honestly, kind of a brat.  She hates the fact that she is dead and feel out of place where she now is at.  They call it “The Here and Now”.  The book teaches a good lesson.  Not everything happens the way you want, Patience goes a long way, and friends can come from anywhere.

The Summary:  Riley has crossed the bridge into the afterlife—a place called Here, where time is always Now. She has picked up life where she left off when she was alive, living with her parents and dog in a nice house in a nice neighborhood. When she’s summoned before The Council, she learns that the afterlife isn’t just an eternity of leisure. She’s been assigned a job, Soul Catcher, and a teacher, Bodhi, a possibly cute, seemingly nerdy boy who’s definitely hiding something. They return to earth together for Riley’s first assignment, a Radiant Boy who’s been haunting a castle in England for centuries. Many Soul Catchers have tried to get him to cross the bridge and failed. But all of that was before he met Riley .

The Cover:

 

This is a really cute cover. Its what made me want to buy it in the first place. Very appropriate for the age group its meant for.  Since this book is about Riley in the afterlife, I like how the cover looks wispy and well, Radiant! 🙂

At first I was a little skeptical it being OK for middle grade kids (mom mode kicking in) as it talks a little about her accident and its obviously about life after death.  But its actually good.  It doesn’t get in depth about her death.  Its does however, give you a picture of what it could be like life after death.

 I am sorry that this review isn’t as detailed as all my others.  It being a simple book, I really don’t have much to go on.  I can say though, Your kids would enjoy reading it.  Its sad, funny, and exciting with a good meaningful ending.  This book is available in kindle, audible, and paperback.  I have provided the link below.  Happy reading everyone! 🙂

Amazon:

https://amzn.com/0312629176