I just need to say…WOW!!!! I have not been blown away by a book since The Mortal Instruments books and Ms. Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children. This book written by the amazing Martina McAtee has so much drama, suspense, and yes romance it’s difficult to peel your eyes away from the beautifully decorated pages. My head is just swarming with the stories and characters I am already wanting to re-read it! My favorite thing about novels is when authors write their stories in different points of views and Martina did that. I was happy to read the ending but I’m devastated it’s over… For Now 😉. Children Shouldn’t Play with Dead Things is book one of a new series.

Summary: 17 year old Ember Denning has made an art of isolating herself. She prefers the dead. She spends her days skipping school in old cemeteries and her nights hiding from her alcoholic father at the funeral home where she works. When her own father dies, Ember learns her whole life is a lie. Standing in the cemetery that’s been her sanctuary, she’s threatened by the most beautiful boy she’s ever seen and rescued by two people who claim to be her family. They say she’s special, that she has a supernatural gift like them…they just don’t know exactly what it is. They take her to a small Florida town, where Ember’s life takes a turn for the weird. She’s living with her reaper cousins, an orphaned werewolf pack, a faery and a human genius. Ember’s powers are growing stronger, morphing into something bigger than anything anybody anticipated. Ember has questions but nobody has answers. Nobody knows what she is. They only know her mysterious magical gift is trying to kill them and that beautiful dangerous boy from the cemetery may be the only thing standing between her and death. As Ember’s talents are revealed so are the secrets her father hid and those in power who would seek to destroy her. What’s worse, saving Ember has put her cousins in danger and turned her friend’s lives upside down. Ember must learn to embrace her magic or risk losing the family she’s pieced together.

The Cover:  It’s just so elegant and beautiful!! The purple is wonderful and now that I think about it,  was purposely and perfectly chosen. It’s dark but at the same time pretty. And of course it has our main character on the front. 😊  I really don’t even want to put the book back on the shelf. I have it displayed in front of my shelf so it can easily be seen.



I am so grateful that Author Martina Mcatee gave me the opportunity to read this book. It was truly amazing. This is a YA Fantasy/Romance novel that I really think you all should read. I mean, “Children Shouldn’t Play with Dead Things” is now on my top three  favorite book series if that tells you how much I loved it. Buy it today! It’s now available on Amazon. I provided the link below. Thanks for reading guys. You are all the reason I keep doing this. That, and because I love it haha.
Amazon: 

Link: http://amzn.com/0692498729